A new update for Fortnite will arrive on Wednesday, May 20, for Nintendo Switch, mobile devices, PC, PlayStation 4, Stadia, and Xbox One. Developer Epic Games has not detailed what’s in the patch.

Downtime for the update, v12.60, will start at 2 AM ET / 6 AM GMT (11 PM PT on May 19).

Epic Games confirmed that Fortnite Season 3 has been delayed, starting immediately after Season 2 wraps up on June 4. Epic said this delay was because it had “lots” of additional content in store for the game. This includes things like the Travis Scott-led Astronomical concert, the non-combative Party Royale mode, and more.

Fortnite has been a huge success for Epic Games since its Battle Royale launched in 2017. In the almost three years the game has been on the market, Fortnite has raked in $1 billion from mobile microtransactions alone. Of course, this figure does not take into account how well Fortnite has performed on consoles and PC. In April 2020 alone, Fortnite brought in $44.3 million and six million new installs.

In other Fortnite news, the game was recently confirmed as a launch title for both PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X. The two next-generation consoles are still on track to drop this holiday season despite the ongoing coronavirus pandemic.

Elsewhere on GameSpot, we will be hosting Play For All, a celebration of all things gaming, starting on June 1. Join us as we bring you the summer’s hottest news, previews, interviews, features, and videos, as well as raise money for COVID-19 relief efforts with the help of our friends from around the gaming world.

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Published by CelleSports

CelleSports is a Game development, News outlet, and Social Cell community. Build your cells or teams for any game and start communicating efficiently. Join us in building the number one eSport and gaming community in the World. Join Cell eSports

Leave a comment